Cricket World Cup final umpire admits ‘error’

    Ad-01

    The umpire World Health Organization awarded England six runs from a freak overthrow within the last over of the planet final has admitted he created AN “error” and will have given one run fewer, a report said on Sunday.


    A throw to the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving mountain Stokes as he tried to finish a second run and raced to the boundary, with Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena awarding six.
    Three balls later the scores at 50 overs were tied as England reached 241 all out replying to New Zealand’s 241 for eight.
    It took the tense final to an excellent Over that once {more} was tied however England raised the trophy by virtue of getting scored more boundaries


    Critics, together with former leading umpire Simon Taufel, aforesaid England ought to are awarded 5 runs, not six, because the batsmen had not crossed for the second run at the instant the ball was thrown.
    Former Sri Lankan take a look at player Dharmasena told the Sunday Times he failed to have the advantage of tv replays that showed the batsmen had not crossed.
    “I agree that there was a mistake of judgment after I see it on TV replays currently,” Dharmasena, World Health Organization was umpiring the ultimate with South Africa’s Marais Gerhard Gerhards, told the local Sunday Times.


    “But we have a tendency to failed to have the posh of TV replays at the bottom and that i don’t regret the choice I created.”
    Dharmasena aforesaid he signalled six when consulting the opposite match officers. “So, I did consult the leg umpire (Erasmus) through the communication system that is detected by all alternative umpires and therefore the match referee,” he told the newspaper.
    “While they can not check TV replays, all of them confirmed that the batsmen have completed the second run. This is when I made my decision.”
    Taufel had told Fox Sports Australia the umpires made a “clear mistake” as the batsmen had not crossed for their second run.


    But the Australian conjointly defended the match umpires, who he said had to make a complicated judgment, and said it would be “unfair” to say the decision altered the outcome of the tournament because it was not possible to grasp what would have happened within the final balls had 5 been awarded.