Australian Open 2019 Grand Slam, Tennis Tour – 14-27 Jan 2019

    Australian open
    Australian open / Tenniseventguide

    With just over a month to go before the first Grand Slam of the year which is going to take place between the 14th and 27th of January next year. It is the right time to look back at the history of the prestigious Australian Open.

    Australian open 2019
    Australian open 2019 / Tenniseventguide

    The Australian Open started back in the year 1905. Since then 106 editions of the tournament has taken place. This will be 107th edition of the Australian Open. Australian Open is the largest annual tournament of the southern hemisphere. In 2018 around 743,667 attended the game making it the most for the tournament ever. From 1972 Melbourne has hosted every edition of the Australian Open. Before 1969 only a few selects could take part in the tournament. It was only after 1969 that the Australian Open was opened for professional. All the records that would be cited in the article is post 1969.

    The Australian Open of 2018 has the total prize money of 55 million Australian dollars with the winner of singles event bagging a prize of A $ 4,000,000, winner of double event getting A$700,000 and that of mixed double winning A$ 150,050. The prize money for the 2019 Australian Open is 60 million Australian dollars.

    The current champion of the men’s single event is Roger Federer who won the grand slam for the 6th time in 2018. For the last two years he is winning the Australian Open. He jointly became the third player to achieve this feat. Other two players who has achieved this feat are Novak Djokovic and Roy Emerson.

    In 2018 Australian Open, Caroline Wozniacki won the women’s single event. This was her 1st Australian open.  After 1969, Margaret Court and SereneWilliams has won the event for 7 times, maximum for any women player.

    Looking forward for the Australian Open 2019 and hoping this would be another great Grand Slam and beginning of the 2019 Tennis Season.